Everyday Life

Hello again,

It’s hard to believe that the first half of classes will be over in a week! November is just around the corner! Since my last update, I’ve been able to explore multiple cities here in the Netherlands and experience Oktoberfest. In between my travels, I’ve been able to explore Maastricht and find the best study spots the city has to offer.

The third weekend of September I participated in the ISN Discover Holland Weekend. On this trip I was able to visit the Dutch cities of Kinderdijk, Delft, Rotterdam, Utrecht, and Volendam. All of these cities had their own unique characteristics and I’m glad I had the opportunity to see a little of each. My favorites were probably Utrecht and Volendam.

A92F1FC4-21B7-48F2-8513-A9FA1480EC29

Kinderdijk

E5E86D23-48C6-41D9-8BC5-421877793CC8

Delft

64DA32AB-6486-4C87-B890-1CDD1216DAB6

Utrecht

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Volendam

The following weekend I spent Saturday in Amsterdam with some friends. This was my first time in Amsterdam. The canals throughout the city were very beautiful. Every street I ventured down was a perfect postcard back-drop. While in Amsterdam I visited the Rijksmuseum, ate traditional Dutch pancakes and enjoyed drinks along the canal.

amsterdam

Living in Maastricht has allowed me to experience different ways of life in Europe. Maastricht is a student town that is full of cozy restaurants and cafés that provide the perfect atmosphere for days you want to relax and study. On the other hand, Maastricht is so close to many larger European cities like Amsterdam and Brussels, so if you want to get away for the day the possibilities are endless.

This past weekend I checked Oktoberfest off my bucket list. I’m definitely glad I went, but I don’t think it’s something I would want to do every year. The weekend was fun, but extremely tiring (I’m still catching up on sleep)! I think the experience is what you would expect, lots of beer and people. It felt like a German themed state fair, if you’re from the states, with lots of food and rides, in addition to beer.

IMG_6915

Traveling is fun, but it’s also nice to stay in Maastricht for the weekend. With exams in a week, I spent this weekend studying in Maastricht and I’m staying here next weekend to prepare for exams. During the week I love studying at the Student Service Center (SSC). I like studying at the large table in the entry way near the Coffeelovers. People come and go throughout the day, so it’s usually easy to find a seat. If I want to get off campus, I love Koffie. There are multiple long tables to sit with others and get your work done. And if I want to treat myself after spending the day studying I love Piece of Cake. This isn’t the best place to study, but the coffee and cakes are amazing!

koffie

 

ssc

Student Service Center~Coffeelovers

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Piece of Cake

Hopefully exams go well and my new classes aren’t too hard! I will keep you all updated in my next installment of my time here in Europe!

Until next time,

Natalie

Leave a comment