My first month in UM

I’m Shiqi Zhang.My home university is Shandong University located in the east of China.

My home university was set up about a hundred years ago.It has a long history,and many famous person graduated from it over the century.It’s in a big city with many people living in it,so it is a little crowded.And it also near Chinese most famous mountain “Tai Mountain”.But UM is completely different from my home university.It’s a young University,and located in a quiet city with less people living in.On the introduction day,when I mentioned that my home university is near to a famous mountain,our leader joked that”Mountain? We just have hills here!”

I came to Netherlands by plane with several friends.Although UM provide pick-up service for us,we come here by ourselves.It’s easy to find the school.Our plane landed in Amsterdam,then we took a train to Maastricht,and walked to the guesthouse.I’m pleased with the accommodation here.We first went to the information desk in the main building  to check in.Then we entered our room soon.I share a double room with my friend.The room is about 15 euro per day.There are a kitchen, a television,two beds two desks,two wardrobes and a dining table in the room.The toilet and shower are shared by several students outside our room.People living in the guesthouse are all exchange students.The students living in my floor are from all over the world.And there are supermarkets,bus stations and mails near our guesthouse.The staffs here are all friendly.Everything is very convenient.

There was an introduction day several days after we arrived here.It was hold in the main building of SBE.We first get a letter at the entrance,with our student card and group number in it.Then we ate free cookies, drunk coffee and talked with new friends in the building.When time was up,we went to the hall to listen to the lecture.Teachers introduced many useful things and situations we will face during our exchange life.UM is truly an international university.There were hundreds of exchange students set in the hall.But in my home university,the number of exchange students is really small.After that,we were seperated into several groups and had lunch together.After meal,we took a city tour leaded by our leader.There are about 15 students in each group.Nearly everyone is from different country.We walked around the city,and leaders introduced important buildings to us.Then it came to the second of introduction day.We made a simulative pbl class to make us familiar with the process of pbl,in case that we would not be adapted to the new learning pattern.During the pbl,we first introduced ourselves in turn.Then the leader introduced many aspects of pbl.After that,we get a topic and began the simulative pbl.Although it was the first time that everyone be in this kind of class,everyone tried hard to take part into the discussion.After that,we dissolved and took part in a party for all the exchange students.We ate and drunk together.Because of that party,I knew many new friends from all over the world.

The first month in UM is colorful.I experienced a totally different life which is completely opposed to that in my home university.I also met many friends from different country with different experiences.Everything is new.I enjoy the life here,and I’m also looking forward to what will happen in the future

Leave a comment